Navigation Content Activities in Austria

Facts about Austria

Located in the heart of Europe, Austria is a small country with great treasures to offer any visitor. Here are some basic facts about the country.

 © Österreich Werbung/Julius Silver
© Österreich Werbung/Julius Silver
The Republic of Austria (Österreich) is bounded on the north by the Czech Republic, on the northeast by Slovakia, on the east by Hungary, on the south by Slovenia, Italy and Switzerland, and on the west by Liechtenstein, Switzerland and Germany. Austria has an area of 32,378 square miles and has been a member of the European Union since January 1996.

8,700,471 (census 2016)


Austrian Regions
Austria is divided into nine federal regions (Bundesländer):
Vienna - Austria's capital, pop.: 1,840,573
Burgenland - capital: Eisenstadt, pop.: 14,241
Carinthia - capital: Klagenfurt, pop.: 99,110
Lower Austria - capital St. Pölten, pop.: 53,445
Salzburg - capital: Salzburg, pop.: 150,887
Styria - capital: Graz, pop.: 280,200
Tirol - capital: Innsbruck, pop.: 130,894
Upper Austria - capital: Linz, pop.: 200,841
Vorarlberg - capital: Bregenz, pop.: 29,139

Festival Seasons
The opera and theatre season in Austria runs from September to June. Major festivals take place in July and August.

At a latitude of 47 degrees North, the Austrian climate is moderate and generally agreeable, with warm summers and cold winters. Temperatures depend largely on altitude.

German is spoken by 98% of the Austrian population. English is by far the leading second language in the educational system, and is understood widely and spoken fluently by most people working within the tourism industry.

On 1st January 1999, the Euro was introduced and is the only currency used.

Visa Requirements
A valid passport is required to visit Austria. No visas are required for British and Irish citizens for a stay of up to three months.