A-Z of Austria

Located in the heart of Europe, Austria is a small country with great treasures to offer any visitor. Here are some basic facts about the country.


The Republic of Austria (Österreich) is bounded on the north by the Czech Republic, on the northeast by Slovakia, on the east by Hungary, on the south by Slovenia, Italy and Switzerland, and on the west by Liechtenstein, Switzerland and Germany. Austria has an area of 32,378 square miles and has been a member of the European Union since January 1996.


9,129,652 (census 2023)



Festival Seasons

The opera and theatre season in Austria runs from September to June. Major festivals take place in July and August.


At a latitude of 47 degrees North, the Austrian climate is moderate and generally agreeable, with warm summers and cold winters. Temperatures depend largely on altitude.


German is spoken by 98% of the Austrian population. English is by far the leading second language in the educational system, and is understood widely and spoken fluently by most people working within the tourism industry.


On 1st January 1999, the Euro was introduced and is the only currency used.

Visa Requirements

A valid passport is required to visit Austria. No visas are required for British and Irish citizens for a stay of up to three months.

Useful info

4th Floor, 54 Hatton Garden
London EC1N 8HN

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm
Please note, we are not a public office.

Image library
Browse over 15,000 images in our on-line image library featuring all aspects of Austria including cities, culture, architecture, countryside, people, sports, cuisine and hotels. Simply register, download your image and quote the Austrian National Tourist Office as source.

Browse the image library